Friday, June 28, 2013

torso - archive one.

Torso - Archive I


113.45 MB

1. Untitled
2. Untitled
3. Untitled
4. Untitled
5. Untitled
6. Untitled
7. Untitled
8. Untitled
9. Untitled
10. Untitled
11. Untitled
12. Untitled

torso's first archive tape is another excellent release from total black in conjunction with electric voice records. I know I've said it before, but total black never ceases to amaze me. every new release is better than the last in every way - from the music to the packaging - and when you start with âmes sanglantes and cremation lily, that's a nigh-impossible feat. honestly, I can't give brett and his label enough praise, especially after the rita's wonderful second retrospective, and you all should be buying his releases.

but I digress...back to to torso: collecting some of the artist's unreleased recordings over the last dozen years, this compilation is perfectly sequenced and sounds great. the tracks range from droning, almost melodic, electronics compositions to wild, frenzied power electronics with harsh and distorted vocals.

the packaging for this one is also a high-point. the single cassette tape comes in a black bag with multiple inserts with a cover stapled on to the bag's exterior. some copies even come with bullet casings fired by the artist, but I wasn't lucky enough to get any in my copy.

although it's currently sold out at total black (what isn't?), copies do seem to be available from electric voice via the link below. definitely jump on this one as soon as possible - it's more than sixty minutes long and with such a great variety of sounds from just one artist, there's no way you can go wrong. plus, you'll be supporting small independent labels, and isn't that the whole point?

you know, besides the music.

*a quick note: track eleven cuts out a couple of times. I don't know if this is due to an error in the dubbing or just the nature of the source material, but it's present on my copy and has nothing to do with the rip itself.

(buy a copy from electric voice records.) 

(for preview purposes only.)

No comments:

Post a Comment