Thursday, April 28, 2016

cory strand - memento: a reinterpretation.

Cory Strand - Memento: A Reinterpretation


188.05 MB + 168.56 MB + 187.13 MB + 164.83 MB

1. Part One
2. Part Two
3. Part Three
4. Part Four
5. Part Five
6. Part Six
7. Part Seven
8. Part Eight
9. Part Nine
10. Part Ten
11. Coda One
12. Coda Two

my love for memento is no secret, nor is my love for cory strand's unique reinterpretations of the scores and audio tracks from classic films.

this twelve-disc set, released on strand's altar of waste, perfectly captures the myriad moods put forth by what is, in my opinion, christopher nolan's crowning achievement...and easily one of the best films of the last twenty years.

the sounds and artwork coalesce to form the perfect companion to the film.

it's slow and subtle, gradually seeping into your subconscious and distorting your perception until you're questioning everything around you...

I'd love to see cory do a "totality" version of memento - with the entire audio track turned into destructive wall noise - which would serve as an excellent counterpoint to the gloomy ambience here.

while this one's a little pricey, don't hesitate - fans of the film will love this release, and cory's put the same amount of time, effort, and love into this package that he puts into all of his releases...I don't know how he does it, but I'm glad we get to reap the benefits.

(buy a copy from altar of waste.)

(fact one.)

(fact two.)

(fact three.)

(fact four.)

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

various artists - remise/assume.

Various Artists - Remise/Assume



1. Flysch - Edged: NW 23.10
2. False Moniker - One Arm, One Leg
3. Händer Som Vårdar - Can't
4. Elisha Morningstar - Ghost Wife
5. Slow Listener - Brook's Scowl
6. Minais B - Syrener Og
7. Daphine And Lyndsey - Llantwitt
8. Vasculae - Emulation Formula
9. Wanda Group - Ave Manila
10. Cremation Lily - Love, Made And Remade

the 100th release from zen's strange rules label.

can't believe he's finally hit triple digits.

this compilation represents the full scope of zen's releasing efforts - field recordings, harsh drones, noise, and a whole lot of ghostly, ominous melodies woven throughout.

very ghostly...that's the first adjective that came to mind but it really holds true. whenever I listen to any of zen's releases, I feel the sound calling out for visual accompaniment...and while I've made visuals to some of zen's music before, one clip isn't doesn't do the label justice.

maybe one day...

copies are sold out from the source but one is available on discogs.

don't miss this crowning achievement from one of the best, most consistent labels around.

(for assumption purposes only.)

Thursday, April 14, 2016

plagues - death is salvation.

Plagues - Death Is Salvation


75.32 MB

1. Forsaken
2. Death Is Salvation
3. Nothing Matters
4. Renounce
5. Seething Hatred
6. Triumph Of The Flame
7. Spiritual Bondage

power electronics courtesy of waterpower.

double cassette in a clamshell case.

support the label by purchasing through analog worship.

plagues recently put out a lathe-cut on unseen force.

it's sold out but available on bandcamp.

(for salvation purposes only.)